UC Observer logo
UCObserver on SoundCloud UCObserver on YouTube UCObserver on Facebook UCObserver on Twitter UCObserver's RSS Feeds
Courtesy of Participant Media

Food, Inc.

Hard-hitting documentary sets out to empower us as consumers

By Chantal Braganza

Food, Inc.
Directed by Robert Kenner
(Participant Media) 

Be sure to enjoy your last meal before watching Food, Inc. It may be a little while before you want to dine again.

In step with the conscious eating movement, co-producers Robert Kenner and Eric Schlosser have produced a documentary that reveals some shocking facts about the industry that keeps us fed. Did you know, for example, that each year 76 million Americans are sickened by a food-borne illness, that the average product in your supermarket bears a 1,500-mile travel tag or that migrant workers are regularly exploited by the meat-packing industry?

Fans of Fast Food Nation, Schlosser’s bestseller on the American fast-food industry, or Michael Pollan’s The Omnivore’s Dilemma will be familiar with a lot of the issues explored in this hard-hitting documentary. In a lot of ways, it’s like watching a book turned into a movie. On the negative side, the documentary covers too much material to look at any one issue in depth, and both Schlosser and Pollan figure a little too prominently for balance of opinion.

However, the evidence they present benefits from the advantage of film. Factory-farmed chickens, for example, are all the more disturbing when you see how they’re produced: thousands of fat white birds crammed together in windowless huts, stepping in their own feces and over the bodies of their fellow dead. Because they have been genetically modified to grow in half the natural time and gain twice the weight, their bone structures are weak, often resulting in broken legs. “But,” as one farmer asks, “if you can grow a chicken in 49 days, why would you want one you can grow in three months?”

From factory farming to public health issues to the real cost behind cheap food, Food, Inc. is at times hard to watch because often it’s us, the viewers and consumers, who are the problem. “The average consumer does not feel very powerful, but it’s the exact opposite,” says Gary Hirshberg, CEO of Stonyfield Yogurt and one of the sources interviewed in the film. “When we run an item past the scanner at the supermarket, we’re voting.” 

Food, Inc. isn’t about guilt-tripping viewers into changing their diet completely. Rather, it sets out to inform and empower us as consumers, which is something entirely more palatable.

Author's photo
Chantal Braganza is a writer and editor in Toronto. Her blog posts will appear every second Friday of the month.
Readers’ advisory: The discussion below is moderated by The UC Observer and facilitated by Intense Debate (ID), an online commentary system. The Observer reserves the right to edit or reject any comment it deems to be inappropriate. Approved comments may be further edited for length, clarity and accuracy, and published in the print edition of the magazine. Please note: readers do not need to sign up with ID to post their comments on ucobserver.org. We require only your user name and e-mail address. Your comments will be posted from Monday to Friday between 9:30 a.m. and 5:30 p.m. Join the discussion today!
Promotional Image

Editorials

David Wilson%

Observations

by David Wilson

If statues could talk

Promotional Image

Video

ObserverDocs: Stolen Mother

by Observer Staff

The daughter and adoptive mother of one of the Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women share their story

Promotional Image

Society

July 2017

From far and wide

by Various Writers

Meet 11 immigrants who are putting down new roots

World

June 2017

A suitcase for Cuba

by Christopher Levan

You’ll find more than giveaway toiletries and hand-me-downs in the writer's luggage. Each carefully chosen gift offers a glimpse into the lives of Cubans today.

Justice

June 2017

Undocumented

by Kristy Woudstra

Up to half a million people are living in Canada without official status. The ‘sanctuary city’ movement is growing, but the fear of deportation persists.

World

June 2017

Resisting genocide

by Sally Armstrong

In August 2014, ISIS attacked Iraq’s Yazidis, slaughtering thousands and forcing women and girls into sexual slavery. Today, the survivors are fighting for their ancient way of life.

Society

April 2017

Dear Grandkids

by Various Writers

Six acclaimed Canadian authors write letters from the heart

Society

March 2017

Called to resist

by Paul Wilson

Liberal Christians in the United States test their faith against a demagogue

Promotional Image